Cheesy Chicken and Stuffing Casserole

by

This is my number one go to recipe when it comes to hospitality.  I’m sure that I’ve already cooked this for a number of you Auburndale ladies, and I will be pulling out again as we have a bunch of due dates coming up for you expectant mothers.  This recipes comes from my Mommom (who I am sure got it from somewhere else, but I don’t know where).  Growing up there were six kids in our family, and this was one of the few golden recipes that everyone liked.  What makes it so great, besides the taste, is that it is incredibly simple, requires very little prep time, serves 8, and is very kid friendly.

Ingredients:

  • 4-5 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts ( or as many as it takes to cover the bottom of a 9×13 pan)
  • 8 oz of Swiss Cheese Slices
  • 10 3/4 oz can of Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup
  • 1/2 cup Chicken Broth
  • Salt and Pepper
  • 1 bag of Stuffing Mix (about 6-8 oz)
  • 1 stick Butter, melted

Preheat your oven to 350. First, cut up chicken (I like to cut into serving-size pieces) and place in a buttered 9×13 casserole dish. Second, layer cheese on top of chicken. Next, mix soup, broth, salt and pepper (and if you like cooking with wine, this is a good place to add a splash of white wine – great either way).  After that, pour soup mixture over cheese.  Sprinkle 3/4 stuffing mix over top (I usually just do the whole bag). Finally, drizzle with melted butter. Bake 45-60 mins.

I usually like to serve this with some garlic green beans and possibly some cranberry sauce.  And there you have it!

3 Responses to “Cheesy Chicken and Stuffing Casserole”

  1. charlotteembry Says:

    Is this the yummy casserole that you brought us when I had Elizabeth? I’ll have to try making it myself sometime!

  2. Emily Gould Says:

    This recipe sounds perfect for us! I’ve made a similar recipe using cream soup, but I haven’t heard of adding the chicken broth. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Jenny Grusy Says:

    Love this one Emily! Glad you put it up! I think this was Adam’s favorite meal that you brought over after we had Emma! 🙂

Leave a Reply

