Sweet and Sour Chicken

by

Grace and peace from God our Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ!

I love to cook, I admit it. Everything about preparing a meal, with the exception of the clean up, is fun. In the evenings when my husband is studying, I do some study of my own: cookbooks. I read them, obsessively, like novels. I’ve told Greg that we will need to move soon because I have combed through all of the cookbook collections from the local libraries.  As I move through the book, I have little pieces of scrap paper to mark recipes that I think sound or look good. Once through the whole book, I go through it again and decide if the marked recipes are worth the time and ingredients to make. I hate it when a recipe turns out badly, the waste of money makes me mad, so I’m pretty choosy. The almond macaroons were worth the $5 of almond paste, but the stuffed French toast not so much (it was a soggy mess). For every great recipe I find, I make 2 clunkers that have my family longing for the sight and smell of the golden arches! I have limited myself to 2 new recipes a week, and my family thanks me, especially after a couple of bad weeks!

Those recipes that are “keepers”, as my family calls them, go into The Book, which is now in its second edition. It’s also been split in two with appetizers to meats in volume one and desserts through breads in volume two. These are recipes I use over and over and that my picky girls will generally eat.

So today, with this first blog post I start with a recipe that has the seal of approval from even the pickiest of my eaters (Rebecca ate an unheard of  6 pieces of this chicken): Sweet and Sour Chicken. I got this recipe from the recipe wing of The Pioneer Woman blog.

A note about this recipe: it is messy to make, between the dipping in cornstarch then in egg. Your phone will no doubt ring just as your fingers take on a sausage like appearance of paste, your child will wail that their movie doesn’t work, or your dog will take on that desperate look in their eyes that mean only one thing! Fear not, it is all worthwhile, as is the turning every 15 minutes while it bakes (using a large flat spatula makes easy work of this part). So without further ado:

Sweet and Sour Chicken

3 skinless and boneless chicken breasts, cubed to about 1”

1 C of cornstarch

2 whole eggs, beaten lightly

¼ C of oil

¾ C sugar

4 T ketchup

½ C white vinegar

1 T soy sauce

1 t garlic powder

1.   Dip the chicken in the cornstarch then the egg.

2.  Fry the nuggets in batches in the oil until browned on both sides. Place in a single layer in a 9×13” baking dish.

3.  Mix together the sugar, ketchup, vinegar

4.  Soy sauce and garlic powder, then pour over the chicken.

5.  Bake the chicken at 325* for 1 hour, turning every 15 minutes.

I generally serve this with white rice and some stir fried vegetables.

6 Responses to “Sweet and Sour Chicken”

  1. Lacey Adkins Says:

    This sounds delicious, Sandra! We will definitely be trying this one out soon!

  2. Tes Says:

    I love sweet and sour chicken and this recipe looks simple and easy to make. I can’t wait to try it.
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. Jenny Grusy Says:

    Sandra,
    I’m glad you put this up! I was hoping you would, after you told me about it at Huber’s that one day! Sounds great and I will be adding it to my recipes for next week’s grocery trip. 🙂 Thanks

  4. Emily Scherrer Says:

    Sweet, I already have all the ingredients. AND I have some left-over rice from tonight! This is going on this week’s menu. Thanks Sandra. I trust you and am sure it will be delicious.

  5. Rhoda Says:

    I love new recipes- this looks really good! Thanks!

  6. Jenny Grusy Says:

    Sandra,
    Just wanted to let you know that I tried this recipe this last week and it was amazing!! Love it! I have now place it in “my favorites” in my recipe binder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

